I Know My Rights!

Photographer Not a Terrorist

Image: Grant Smith from Flickr Copyright Lewishamdreamer

Hey Light Scribers!

Question: Do you own a camera? And I mean any type of camera – camera phone, video camera, digital, film – any camera at all. If you do and you actively take photos/video with it then you need to read every sentence on this page:

ACLU – Know Your Rights: Photographers

It is a good list of points that covers situations like shooting in public as well as what your rights are if harassed questioned by law enforcement.

Have you had an experience where you felt your right to photograph was taken away? I’d like to hear about it in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “I Know My Rights!

    1. No problem, Kristi. To be honest, I’ve kind of gotten used to people bothering me as I take photos. I’m one of a handful of black people in this small rural town so folks always walk up to me and (sometimes) politely ask what I’m photographing. It’s a pain sometimes and some people are just rude but I refuse to all them to stop me from shooting! 😉

Comments are closed.