My First Attempt with Extension Tubes

Greetings Light Scribers!

Not that long ago I mentioned that I had just purchased a set of Fotodiox¬†extension or macro tubes for my DSLR. I finally got a chance to play with them! I used only the 7mm tube with my 50mm f/1.8 lens set to manual focus (autofocus isn’t available while using ¬†extension tubes).

Getting things in sharp focus is difficult to say the least but I’m getting the hang of it slowly but surely. Here’s a photo of my Buddha statue using the extension tube:

Buddha-Extension Tube

Buddha Statue Photographed with 50mm f/1.8 lens and 7mm Extension Tube


Without the extender this is about as close as I could get:

Buddha-No-Extension-Tube

Buddha Statue Photographed with 50mm f/1.8 lens at f/2.8, 1/40 sec., ISO 800


Sure, the second image is sharper but I do like the “in your face” (no pun intended) closeness the extender provides. It’ll take some more practice but I know I’ll master the use of them in no time. Do you have and tips for how to use extension tubes? Please share your experiences below.

