Pinterest for Photographic Inspiration

Pinterest_Logo

Click the logo to visit my Pinterest page.

Recently I started a profile on Pinterest (if you aren’t familiar with Pinterest simply click the link to find out what it’s all about). At first, I had a Twitter like experience meaning I had no clue what to do or how to get started there. Once I added a few “pinboards” I quickly saw the site as a tool to organize what visually inspires me. It’s also a way for me to share my photography and allow people to learn more about my likes and personality. For example the “My Style” pinboard I created showcases my – ahem – fashion sense (at least how I would like my fashion sense to be 🙂 ) while my “Food” pinboard displays delectable dishes from around the world that appeal to me.

As a photographer, Pinterest offers me a socially interactive way to share my work and have others share it for me as well. As they like and/or  “repin” my photos others get to experience my work and then they can share via their pinboards. If they really like what they see fellow pinners can follow any or all of your boards. It’s a great way to easily get your work noticed by lots of people quickly. Furthermore, I find inspiration from the many different images I see there. It provides me with virtually limitless ideas for projects and client photo sessions.

Do you use Pinterest? Be sure to find me there and follow what I’m up to. 🙂

UPDATE: A friend and fellow photographer, Lawrence Brown of Lawrence Oliver Brown Photography, has mad me aware of potential copyright issues faced by photographers that use the site. After reading their Copyright and Terms of Service pages it seems they are “working out the kinks” with how intellectual property is used on the site. As with any public site where you make use of and post your own images do your due diligence to ensure the rights to your images are protected and that you aren’t inadvertently infringing on the rights of others.

