Researching Online Portfolio Solutions

Behance Portfolio

Screenshot of My Behance Portfolio

Greetings Light Scribers!

OK, so I’ve been doing a bit of research to find out the best (i.e. most cost effective) means of showcasing my work online. As a budding professional you need more than just a link to an album or page on Facebook to pass along to prospective clients. Thus far, that’s all I’ve been using because I wasn’t really taking on clients but now that I’ve built up interest in my work I want  a more professional online presence. Here are the sites and services I’m investigating right now:

Behance.net

I created a profile on this site basically as part of a school assignment where we had to create or update a LinkedIn profile and have a means for others to view our work. Since I’m no fan of Slideshare I chose to use Behance. It’s easy to get set up and your portfolios – called Projects – can be displayed on LinkedIn. You can sell your work using an online store like Shopify or use their partner Fotomoto to sell prints. They also offer an option called Prosite that allows you to create a profession website for $11 a month or $99 a year. While I like the ease with which I can create photo galleries/projects I feel I need something a little more robust.

SmugMug

I had SmugMug for several months but I wasn’t too fond of their interface. Setup and posting my images was simple enough; I usually uploaded photos via  Adobe Lightroom. They offer options to sell products and prints as well as operate your own website through them but again, I just wasn’t feeling their interface and other options. It’s why I’m searching for something else now.

Zenfolio

Zenfolio seems to have it all! A better assortment of custom designed site pages, unlimited storage for photos and videos (in HD!), a strong list of partner products and services to offer clients and so on. They are similarly priced to SmugMug in terms of annual fees but I think you would get so much more bang for your buck with Zenfolio and I’m leaning more toward them as my solution of choice.

What online portfolio service do you use? Any others I should take a look at? Let me know in the comments below.

