Influencers: Jennifer Avello

allyson

Image © Jennifer Avello

Every artist is influenced by the world around them. The people, places and things that define my work are what the Influencers post is all about. I hope you find inspiration from what you read/view.

What’s not to love about the work of Jennifer  Avello?! I think she has a wonderful command of lighting and her concepts are always refreshing and unique. Jennifer has influenced me to “just do it” and forget about “waiting” for something to spark my inspiration. Learn more about Jennifer and her passion below.

How did you get into photography (or a specific genre of photography)?

I come from a fine art background. I began by painting with materials I inherited from my grandmother, a talented painter. It was a natural transgression and a fantastic journey of self-discovery through art. In grade school I sketched, wrote poetry, and continued to paint. It was in high school when I had found the right fit. Photography stood out as an art form that I could bleed passion into while also making a living. I went on to earn my bachelors in fine art photography at Columbia College Chicago.

When my photographic journey began, I was more of a fine art photographer creating  conceptual portraits. Through my education and training I began to focus my attention on commercial photography and fell in love with Fashion.

How do you want others to view your work?

 This is always a tough question.

I always want to create art that is 100% me and that satisfies my inner creative. If anyone else views my work and likes it, it is beyond my expectations and I am truly grateful.

Who are the artists that influence and inspire your work? Why?

Although I have some favorite artists (which are constantly changing,) I never wait around for inspiration; I just get up and get to work.

Renee

Image © Jennifer Avello

Chuck Close said it best:

“The advice I like to give young artists, or really anybody who’ll listen to me, is not to wait around for inspiration. Inspiration is for amateurs; the rest of us just show up and get to work. If you wait around for the clouds to part and a bolt of lightning to strike you in the brain, you are not going to make an awful lot of work. All the best ideas come out of the process; they come out of the work itself. Things occur to you. If you’re sitting around trying to dream up a great art idea, you can sit there a long time before anything happens. But if you just get to work, something will occur to you and something else will occur to you and something else that you reject will push you in another direction. Inspiration is absolutely unnecessary and somehow deceptive. You feel like you need this great idea before you can get down to work, and I find that’s almost never the case.”

What do you like most about your own work?

I am a huge believer in experimentation, creative freedom and the quality of images and I believe my work reflects my experiences, education, and training. I’m not afraid of trying new things. I’m not afraid of color.  And I’m not afraid of failure, for failure only comes with trying.

What about your works brings you joy?

Every day I get to wake up and do what I love to do. Every day I am able to work with talented artists and individuals that I wouldn’t have had the honor of knowing if it wasn’t for photography and for that I am blessed.

What do you do to positively influence the next generation of photographers/visual artists?

Jennifer-Avello_ben-trovato1

Image © Jennifer Avello

I graduated college with a BFA in photography. I believe you can only become a great artist after you have studied, understood and researched the technical aspects and the history behind your craft, opened yourself to creative experimentation and have studied and appreciated the masters that have come before you.

Although I am primarily a digital photographer now, I shoot and have studied both film and digital. I began my photographic journey with film through all different types of films, formats, and cameras. I would shoot my film, developed my film, mix my own chemicals and then print my own prints in the darkroom. With the rise of digital photography and the giant downfall of film, I think a lot of new artists lack this knowledge and education, which I feel is evident in their work and creative processes.

What are some of your favorite processes and techniques?

I love lighting. I believe what you choose not to light is just as important as what you choose to light. I love experimenting with different lighting techniques, mixed lighting conditions, colored gels, and long exposures.

How can readers find out more about you and your work?

My work can be viewed at http://www.jenniferavello.com from there you can find links to my other social media sites including my Facebook fan page http://www.facebook.com/jenniferavellophotography.

