Will the Sony Cyber-shot RX100 Replace My Canon G12? Maybe…

Sony’s New Cyber-shot RX100

OK, to start, I’m not seriously looking to replace my beloved G12 but if I had to consider it (OK, fine I am considering it!), this little gal might just do the trick!

The Sony Cyber-shot RX100 boasts 20.2 MP via its 1″ Exemor CMOS sensor, a fast f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T lens – with control ring, RAW image capture and full 1080p HD video capability. Additionally, if offers DSLR like shooting modes such as aperture and shutter priority as well as full manual control. Indeed, with all these impressive features I’m sure it’ll earn Sony’s claim as this being the “professionals compact camera”!

Right now, Sony is including a 2-year accidental damage Extended Service plan (worth just under $90) with purchase of the Sony Cyber-shot RX100. The camera itself is listed at $649 on the Sony Store website.

To be honest, I’m still attached to the G12’s vari-angle LCD screen; something the RX100 lacks. Another point in my tried and true G12’s favor is that it has a hot shoe; again, a feature not offered on the Sony camera. Would the faster glass and lens mounted control wheel – and the larger sensor – be enough to tear me away from the G12. We’ll see!

Even if I don’t replace my G12, this would make an excellent edition to any photographer’s camera collection or kit! View a video of the camera here:

Be sure to tell me your thought on the Sony RX100 by commenting below.

5 thoughts on “Will the Sony Cyber-shot RX100 Replace My Canon G12? Maybe…

  1. This is such a fantastic little powerhouse of a camera. I’m not a photgrapher, but I’d sure like to have one and that control ring is a hot feature. I have the old Sony Cyber-shot 7.2 mega pixels with the LCD screen (took a long time for me to get used to it). We also have a Sony DSLR-A390, I’m just now learning how to use it and we’ve had it for about two years. When camera’s went digital, it just jacked up my whole photo taking experience (many of my photos come out all blurry and messed up). I was pretty good with the old school 35 mil cameras, but with all this new technology it can be a bit confusing. Great post! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Hi Stylyn!

      I think you’re the first person who has mentioned to me that film was easier than digital. I’m the exact opposite; I couldn’t get how to properly take photos with 35mm cameras – disposable or otherwise. I like being able to see the results on the fly and then correcting my composition right then and there while you still have a shot at capturing a special moment. With film, if you miss it your just out of luck. I do want to eventually learn how to properly use a 35mm camera though.

      As for learning how to shoot with a digital camera I highly recommend getting Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson; it is totally what you need to make sense of aperture, shutter speed and ISO to get a great image. If you’d like I can send you a list of the books I have read that I found helpful. Just let me know, OK? 🙂

      1. I’m just old school about things that technology has changed so much over the years. I think what I need to do is just better understand my cameras and re-read the manuals and be more conscious of what I’m doing. Thanks for the tips!

      2. I’m old school with music but with electronics I do enjoy some of the latest and greatest technology. Sometimes though I do wish manufacturers would obey the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” rule.

        And yes, it’s a must to have as good an understanding of your cameras as possible. I own two Canon DSLRs: a 40D and an older XTi; I still find myself referring to them from time to time. Once you get the basics down you’ll be fine and you’ll see improvement in your photography almost immediately. Happy shooting! 🙂

Comments are closed.