Late Night Laptop Lighting Experiment

Shockwave_Watermark_Web

Shockwave lit with only laptop lighting!

Note: My apologies for missing a few post dates. I had a few snafus I had to deal with but things should be pretty much back to normal now. OK, on with the post! 🙂

 

A few nights ago I was sitting in front of my computer bored senseless. I was tired of watching old episodes of Heroes and felt I could be doing something more productive (Side note: At 2 or 3 in the morning what I should’ve been doing is sleeping… but I digress). I remember I had recently watched a video by Michael Zelbel of Smoking Strobes on how to use your laptop as a light source for portraits.

 

Basically, you download these shapes and patterns from ProPortfolioClub.com (It’s free!), save them as your desktop background and then you can use them to illuminate your subject. I actually made a folder for them in my Photos folder on my Vaio and then made that entire folder into a rotating wallpaper.

 

Because it was so late, I didn’t have anyone to use as a model so I grabbed a few Transformers figures I’d used for a class project, cleaned off my desk (a task in and of itself!) and set it up as a little mini studio. Here’s another from my late night experiment:

Cliffjumper_Watermark_Web

Cliffjumper – Ready to kick some ARSE!

 

Have you used this or a similar technique? I’d love to hear about it!

One thought on “Late Night Laptop Lighting Experiment

Comments are closed.