Influencers: Kristi Bonney

IMG_4354watermark

 

Every artist is influenced by the world around them. The people, places and things that define my work are what the Influencers post is all about. I hope you find inspiration from what you read/view.

How did you get into photography (or a specific genre of photography)?

I developed a strong interest and passion for photography as an art form during my early teenage years; photographing everything in sight – friends, family, still life, landscapes. But my curiosity about photography began early on. I remember poring through our family photo albums as a young child. I was completely fascinated that little snippets of my life, moments that I could actually recall in my mind’s eye, had been captured on paper – the laughter, the joy, the memories. They hadn’t disappeared. They were tangible, forever memorialized. As a 5-year old, I relished the fact that cameras made it possible for me to relive those moments and when I finally owned a camera of my own, a whole new magical world opened up for me.

IMG_7559asidewatermarkIs there a specific message you try to convey to others through your work? If so, what is it?
If there’s one common theme or message that I try to convey in my work, it’s beauty – beautiful moments, beautiful faces, beauty found in the most unexpected places.

Who are the artists that influence and inspire your work? Why?
While I admire photographers like Dorothea Lange, Walker Evans, Robert Capa and Ansel Adams, they certainly don’t influence or inspire my work. I am, instead, inspired by the world around me – my children’s laughter, the rustle of autumn leaves beneath my feet, the ebb and flow of the ocean’s tide, beauty hidden among the ruins, wrinkles of time firmly etched upon the face of the elderly and more.

What about your works brings you joy?
As a lifestyle photographer, making photos that really capture the emotion, essence and beauty of my subject brings me great joy.

What do you do to positively influence the next generation of photographers/visual artists?
I host seasonal online photography challenges over on my blog, Live and Love Out Loud. In addition to inspiring and thought provoking prompts/themes, photo challenge participants gain helpful photography critique, tips, freebies and tutorials. But more importantly, they become members of an accepting community of photographers who share a common goal – to improve their craft.

What are some of your favorite processes and techniques?
In the very beginning I got completely caught up in trends. Every single photo I processed was either way too heavy on the vignette or had an overdone, vintage/antique feel to it. These days, I try to stay true to life when it comes to my processing. I want my editing style to enhance my photo, not distract from it.

IMG_8005watermarkfb

Where can readers find out more about you and your work?

To learn more about me and my work, visit my blog Live and Love Out Loud where I write about motherhood, photography and empowering women. You can also find me on Twitter and Facebook and can catch me live this coming fall in St. Louis, where I’ll be speaking about the unleashing the power of photography in social media at the Show Me The Blog Social Media and Blogging Conference.

 

3 thoughts on “Influencers: Kristi Bonney

    1. You’re welcome Kristi and really, the honor’s mine! You are one of the first photo blogs I followed and though it’s mostly geared toward mommies I still find inspiration there. 😉

      Speaking of inspiration, what I liked most about what you shared is that your source of inspiration is the world around you and not necessarily a person – famous or otherwise. It’s definitely something to think about 🙂

Comments are closed.