Monday Motivation: You Don’t Take a Photograph…

 

ansel-adams-getty-images

Image Credit: Getty Images

“You don’t take a photograph, you make it.” – Ansel Adams

I’ve been attending the Art Institute of Pittsburgh – Online Division for a little over a year now (with about a year to go before I have my degree). If there’s nothing else I’ve learned its that you really do have to create an image; you can’t just point your camera at something and start clicking away. You have to know what to keep in frame and what to eliminate. You have to determine how the light will make your subject look its best. Eddie Adams used to say that he was a “concerned photographer”. I think that, in the realm of creating an image you need to be a “conscious photographer”. You need to be aware of what you’re shooting and how you’re shooting.

 

