Monday Motivation: Life is a Series of Experiences…

Battlestar_Galactica_poster_by_mruottin

“Battlestar Galactica” Poster by Mika Ruottinen

“Life is a series of experiences, each one of which makes us bigger…for the world was built to develop character, and we must learn that the setbacks and grief’s we endure help us in our marching onward.” – Henry Ford

Short and sweet (because I’ve been up all night working on projects and watching Battlestar Galactica…Mostly watching Battlestar Galactica), what we consider mistakes are, in reality, our greatest teachers. As a budding photographer I admit to making plenty but I do not allow those mistakes to hinder me or deter me from pursuing my passion. On the contrary, when I make photos and the results are not what I expected I don’t give up, I don’t blame others and and I don’t blame my equipment. I try to, as objectively as possible, look at what I’ve done and look for reasons why I didn’t get the results I expected. Sometimes it’s a simple matter of adjusting aperture or shutter speed, other times I might need to pay better attention to lighting. Whatever the case may be, I sit, I study and then I go out and try it again. OK, I say I was going to be brief but the point is, in life or photography, we go through things. We can either learn from them or be doomed to repeat them… Kind of like the story of Battlestar Galactica, huh?! So say we all! OOPS! There goes my inner Adama again! 😉
2 thoughts on “Monday Motivation: Life is a Series of Experiences…

  1. I am old enough to remember the first Battlestar Galactica. I enjoyed it and I was very happy to see that they did yeoman’s work on the remake. It was an excellent series.

Comments are closed.