Bla Bla Blog

Greetings Fellow Light Scribers!

ho-hum-roadSorry I’ve been MIA. Lots going on (dropping classes, looking for a steady gig, yada, yada, yada…). Lately, I’ve been having mixed feelings about my future with photography. I see the improvement but my creative juices just don’t flow as they once did.

Some of this “creative block” may stem from the aforementioned things going on in my life. Potential homelessness and having to drop out of class three times will have that effect, I guess.

Anyway, I’ve been doing something I haven’t done in a while and that’s go on photo walks. The last one was on the 10 year anniversary for Flickr (aptly called #Flickr10 – Check out the pics here.

Another thing that’s been bugging me is the lack of a defined genre. I will say that I’m just now finding that I enjoy studio photography but my “portfolio” is a hodge podge of different stuff. I did manage to create a decent portfolio on Model Mayhem. The more I shoot conceptual/fashion related work the more I don’t want to shoot conceptual/fashion related work. Thankfully, I’ve been speaking with some of my former instructors and concluded that what I’d really like to do is get my Cornell Capa on and become a “Concerned Photographer”. I want to capture images that are impactful on a social level, images that make people think and evoke sincere emotional reactions.

 

Well, this rants gone on long enough. Just know that I’ll be making some changes to the content on this blog or creating a new blog all together. We’ll see…

